The think tank for
food, agriculture, and forestry

Agora Agriculture

About us

Food, agriculture, and forestry are of great importance for climate neutrality, biodiversity conservation and other key sustainability goals at national and international levels. The necessary knowledge on how to achieve these goals is largely available. Despite this, current agricultural, forestry, and food policies in Germany and the EU are not sufficiently aligned to the sustainability goals. We would like to change that.

At the independent think tank Agora Agriculture, we work on the central areas of action of the transformation at the interface between science, policy, society, and the private sector. With our work, we want to contribute to achieving the democratically negotiated sustainability goals and support future societal negotiation processes for the transformation.

What we do

We produce science-based analyses, organize dialogues, and develop politically feasible solutions for a broad range of topics, from the transformation of livestock farming to the rewetting of peatlands, sustainable arable farming and land use in the bioeconomy, and sustainable food systems.

An important basis of the work of Agora Agriculture is the integrated consideration of the sustainability dimensions. This, together with cooperation with Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende and Agora Industry, enables the comprehensive consideration of synergies and conflicting goals in the context of future land use. We focus on the transformation in Germany; however, we also work on key processes at the EU level and consider the international implications of political action.

Since transformation is a task for society overall, we address our analyses and recommendations to political decision-makers, interest groups from the private sector, agricultural producers, civil society, and journalists. We see the necessary change as an opportunity – not only for society – but also for the sectors involved. These change processes require a democratic and knowledge-based design. Agora Agriculture contributes to this.

Who we are

Christine Chemnitz and Harald Grethe lead the work of Agora Agriculture in tandem. They are currently staffing a team in a flat hierarchy structure, that works creatively and in an interdisciplinary way at the interface of science and policy.

Dr. Christine Chemnitz
Dr. Christine Chemnitz

Director


Tanja-Dräger
Tanja Dräger

Manager Sustainable Diets


Prof. Dr. Harald Grethe
Prof. Dr. Harald Grethe

Director


Anna Martinsohn
Dr. Anna Martinsohn

Senior Manager Communications and Press

Wiebke Nowack
Wiebke Nowack

Project Officer Land Use in the Bioeconomy

Christian Rehmer
Christian Rehmer

Team Lead Restructuring the Livestock Sector

Blanka Stolz
Blanka Stolz

Team Assistant


Stephanie Wunder
Stephanie Wunder

Team Lead Sustainable Diets


The Council of Agora Agriculture brings together key stakeholders of the agricultural, forestry, and food policy debate. It will be established by summer 2022, and will bring together around 20 people from politics, associations, business, science, and civil society.

The Council is a forum for the open and trustful exchange of different perspectives on the challenges of sustainability transformation in food, agriculture, and forestry and on the work of Agora Agriculture.

In addition to the Council, we will establish a Scientific Advisory Board consisting of about 20 scientists from different disciplines. The Scientific Advisory Board will advise Agora Agriculture on complex issues that can only be addressed in an inter-and transdisciplinary way.

Agora Agriculture is supported by private foundations and organisations. The organization works independently of economic and partisan interests.

PDF-Download | Financial Support Agora_Agriculture 2022 2023

Robert Bosch Stiftung
Robert Bosch Stiftung

Porticus
Porticus


Umweltstiftung Michael Otto
Umweltstiftung Michael Otto


European Climate Foundation
European Climate Foundation

German Federal Environmental Foundation
German Federal Environmental Foundation

Stiftung Mercator
Stiftung Mercator

ALV Foundation
ALV Foundation

Agora Agriculture is part of the Agora think tanks, which also include Agora Energiewende, Agora Industry, and Agora Verkehrswende. The organisations are united in the pursuit of a climate-neutral future in Germany, Europe and globally. They work in a science-based and interdisciplinary manner to develop sound and politically feasible paths for the major transformation sectors. The Agora think tanks share knowledge with stakeholders from politics, business, science and civil society and strive for a productive exchange of ideas.

Agora Agriculture, Agora Energiewende, and Agora Industry are part of the non-profit SEFEP gGmbH, which is funded by grants from foundations and public institutions. The organization is not beholden to corporate or political interests.

What we work for

Sustainable and healthy diets
Sustainable and healthy diets


Restructuring the livestock sector
Restructuring the livestock sector

Rewetting of peatlands
Rewetting of peatlands


Sustainable arable farming
Sustainable arable farming


Land use in the bioeconomy
Land use in the bioeconomy


Forests as part of the sustainability transformation
Forests as part of the sustainability transformation

Common Agricultural Policy of the EU (CAP)
Common Agricultural Policy of the EU (CAP)

News

Berlin, 17 May 2022. With today's launch of Agora Agriculture, the independent think tank begins its work on sustainable food, agriculture, and forestry in Germany and the EU. These areas are central to climate protection, biodiversity conservation, and to achieving other sustainability goals at national and international levels. The new organization joins Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende, and Agora Industry, covering another sector that is central to achieving climate neutrality. The food system as a whole is responsible for about a quarter of greenhouse gas emissions in Germany. In addition, agriculture and forestry are of particular importance for biodiversity due to their share of about 80 percent of Germany’s land area.

Agora Agriculture aims to develop science-based policy proposals for sustainable food, agriculture, and forestry. Through sound analysis and the organization of dialogues, the think tank will support political negotiation processes to achieve key sustainability goals. The focus of Agora Agriculture’s work includes restructuring of livestock farming, sustainability in arable farming and sustainable land use, the rewetting of peatlands, sustainable forest use, and healthier and more sustainable diets.

The think tank is co-chaired by agricultural experts Christine Chemnitz and Harald Grethe. "Food, agricultural, and forestry policies need to be oriented towards key sustainability goals," said Harald Grethe, Director of Agora Agriculture. “The areas that require urgent political action are well known. With our work, we want to help ensure that political decision makers shape the transformation in a knowledge-based, transparent way and with a long-term perspective.”

"Contributing to solving the climate and biodiversity crisis holds great opportunities for the sectors involved and for society as a whole – also in politically uncertain times,” said Agora Agriculture Director Christine Chemnitz. “Agora Agriculture is committed to preserving production resources such as soil and water, developing new sources of income, and increasing societal appreciation of agriculture and forestry."

An important foundation of Agora Agriculture's work is its integrated approach to key sustainability dimensions. This, together with the cooperation with Agora Energiewende, Agora Industry, and Agora Verkehrswende, enables a holistic view of synergies and conflicting goals in the context of future land use. "We are very pleased that with the launch of Agora Agriculture, the Agora think tanks now cover another essential area in the transformation to climate neutrality," said Markus Steigenberger, Managing Director of Agora Energiewende.

Chemnitz and Grethe will head Agora Agriculture and build an interdisciplinary 14-member team. Both have many years of professional experience in the fields of agricultural and food policy: Christine Chemnitz was previously Head of the Unit on International Agricultural Policy at the Heinrich-Böll-Foundation for more than 15 years. Harald Grethe heads the International Agricultural Trade and Development Group at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and was Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board for Agricultural Policy, Food and Consumer Health Protection at the Federal Ministry for Food and Agriculture from 2012 to 2020.

Agora Agriculture works independently of economic and partisan interests and is supported by funding from private foundations. These include the Robert Bosch Stiftung, Porticus, the European Climate Foundation and the Michael Otto Environmental Foundation. The Mercator Foundation is also among its supporters.



About Agora Agriculture

Agora Agriculture develops scientifically sound and politically feasible paths for the transformation to sustainable food, agriculture, and forestry. The organization works independently of economic and partisan interests.

PDF-Download Press Release | Think tank "Agora Agriculture" begins its work

For inquiries: presse@agora-agrar.de
www.agora-agriculture.org

Working
at Agora Agriculture

The Agora agriculture team is currently being developed. We are looking for motivated people for our initially 14-member team who see the transformation to sustainable food, agriculture, and forestry as an opportunity, and want to actively shape the transformation processes.

2015arrow-downcalendarclose-gradientclose-gradientmenu-gradientmenu-gradientmenu_pinslide to leftslider to righttwitter_internyoutube-inter

Der Thinktank für
Ernährung, Landwirtschaft und Forst

Agora Agrar

Über uns

Ernährung, Land- und Forstwirtschaft sind von großer Bedeutung für die Klimaneutralität, den Erhalt der biologischen Vielfalt und andere zentrale Nachhaltigkeitsziele auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene. Das erforderliche Wissen darüber, wie diese Ziele erreicht werden können, ist weitgehend vorhanden. Dennoch ist die aktuelle Agrar-, Forst-, und Ernährungspolitik in Deutschland und der EU viel zu wenig daran ausgerichtet. Das möchten wir ändern.

Mit dem unabhängigen Thinktank Agora Agrar bearbeiten wir an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, Politik, Gesellschaft und Privatwirtschaft die zentralen Handlungsfelder der Transformation. Wir möchten mit unserer Arbeit dazu beitragen, dass die demokratisch ausgehandelten Nachhaltigkeitsziele erreicht werden und zukünftige gesellschaftliche Aushandlungsprozesse für die Transformation unterstützen.

Was wir tun

Wir erstellen wissensbasierte Analysen, organisieren Dialoge und entwickeln politisch umsetzbare Lösungswege für ein breites Themenspektrum vom Umbau der Nutztierhaltung über die Wiedervernässung von Mooren, einen nachhaltigen Ackerbau und die Landnutzung in der Bioökonomie bis hin zu einer nachhaltigen Ernährung.

Eine wichtige Grundlage der Arbeit von Agora Agrar ist die integrierte Betrachtung der zentralen Nachhaltigkeitsdimensionen. Dies sowie die Zusammenarbeit mit Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende und Agora Industrie ermöglichen die umfassende Berücksichtigung von Synergien und Zielkonflikten im Rahmen der zukünftigen Landnutzung. Unser Fokus liegt auf der Politik in Deutschland; wir bearbeiten aber auch zentrale Prozesse auf EU-Ebene und berücksichtigen die internationalen Auswirkungen des politischen Handelns.

Da die Transformation eine gesamtgesellschaftliche Aufgabe ist, richten wir uns mit unseren Analysen und Empfehlungen an politische Entscheidungsträger:innen, Interessensvertretungen aus Wirtschaft, Berufsstand und Zivilgesellschaft sowie Journalistinnen und Journalisten. Wir sehen in den notwendigen Veränderungsprozessen eine Chance – nicht nur für die Gesellschaft – sondern auch für die beteiligten Sektoren. Diese Veränderungsprozesse erfordern eine demokratische und wissensbasierte Gestaltung. Dazu trägt die Agora Agrar bei.

Wer wir sind

Christine Chemnitz und Harald Grethe leiten die Arbeit der Agora Agrar als Doppelspitze und bauen ein Team auf, das gemeinsam an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft und Politik interdisziplinär, in flachen Hierarchien und kreativ miteinander arbeitet.

Dr. Christine Chemnitz
Dr. Christine Chemnitz

Direktorin

Umbau der Nutztierhaltung
Prof. Dr. Harald Grethe

Direktor

Im Rat der Agora Agrar kommen zentrale Akteure der agrar-, forst- und ernährungspolitischen Debatte zusammen. Er wird bis Sommer 2022 aufgebaut und etwa 20 Personen aus Politik, Verbänden, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, und Zivilgesellschaft umfassen.

Der Rat ist ein Ort des offenen, vertrauensvollen Austausches zu den unterschiedlichen Perspektiven auf die Herausforderungen der Nachhaltigkeitstransformation in Ernährung, Land- und Fortwirtschaft und zu der Arbeit der Agora Agrar.

Zusätzlich zu dem Rat der Agora Agrar, werden wir einen Wissenschaftlichen Beirat aufbauen, der etwa 20 Wissenschaftler*innen aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen umfassen wird. Der Wissenschaftliche Beirat berät Agora Agrar in Bezug auf komplexe Fragestellungen, die nur inter- und transdisziplinär bearbeitet werden können.

Agora Agrar ist gemeinnützig und wird durch private Stiftungen und Organisationen gefördert. Die Organisation agiert unabhängig von wirtschaftlichen und parteipolitischen Interessen.

PDF-Download | Finanzielle Unterstützung Agora Agrar 2022 2023

Robert Bosch Stiftung
Robert Bosch Stiftung

Porticus
Porticus


Umweltstiftung Michael Otto
Umweltstiftung Michael Otto


European Climate Foundation
European Climate Foundation

Agora Agrar ist Teil der Agora Thinktanks, zu denen auch Agora Energiewende, Agora Industrie und Agora Verkehrswende gehören. Die Agoren vereint das Streben nach einer klimaneutralen Zukunft in Deutschland, Europa und weltweit. Sie arbeiten wissenschaftsbasiert und interdisziplinär und entwickeln fundierte und politisch umsetzbare Wege für die großen Transformationssektoren. Die Agoren teilen Wissen mit Akteurinnen und Akteuren aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft und streben einen produktiven Austausch von Ideen an.

Agora Agrar, Agora Energiewende und Agora Industrie sind Teil der gemeinnützigen SEFEP gGmbH, die sich durch Zuwendungen von Stiftungen und öffentlichen Einrichtungen finanziert. Die Organisation ist weder unternehmerischen noch politischen Interessen verpflichtet.

Wofür wir uns
einsetzen

Nachhaltige gesunde Ernährung
Nachhaltige und gesunde Ernährung

Umbau der Nutztierhaltung
Umbau der Nutztierhaltung


Wiedervernässung von Mooren
Wiedervernässung von Mooren

Nachhaltiger Ackerbau
Nachhaltiger Ackerbau


Landnutzung in der Bioökonomie
Landnutzung in der Bioökonomie

Wald als Teil der Nachhaltigkeitstransformation
Wald als Teil der Nachhaltigkeitstransformation

Gemeinsame Agrarpolitik der EU (GAP)
Gemeinsame Agrarpolitik der EU (GAP)

News

Berlin, 17. Mai 2022. Mit dem heutigen Start von Agora Agrar beginnt der unabhängige Thinktank seine Arbeit zu nachhaltiger Ernährung, Land- und Forstwirtschaft in Deutschland und der EU. Die Bereiche sind von zentraler Bedeutung für den Klimaschutz, den Erhalt der biologischen Vielfalt und die Erreichung weiterer Nachhaltigkeitsziele auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene. Die neue Organisation deckt damit neben Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende und Agora Industrie einen weiteren Sektor ab, der für die Erreichung der Klimaneutralität entscheidend ist: Das Ernährungssystem ist insgesamt für etwa ein Viertel der Treibhausgasemissionen in Deutschland verantwortlich. Zudem sind Land- und Forstwirtschaft aufgrund ihres Anteils von etwa 80 Prozent an der deutschen Landfläche von besonderer Bedeutung für die Biodiversität.

Agora Agrar hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, wissensbasierte und umsetzbare Politikvorschläge für eine nachhaltige Ernährung, Land- und Forstwirtschaft zu entwickeln. Durch fundierte Analysen und die Organisation von Dialogen wird die Organisation politische Aushandlungsprozesse zur Erreichung von Nachhaltigkeitszielen unterstützen. Der Fokus der Arbeit liegt unter anderem auf dem Umbau der Nutztierhaltung, Nachhaltigkeit im Ackerbau und einer zukunftsfähigen Landnutzung, der Wiedervernässung von Mooren, einer nachhaltigen Waldnutzung sowie einer gesünderen und nachhaltigeren Ernährung.

Der Thinktank wird gemeinsam von den Agrar-Expert:innen Christine Chemnitz und Harald Grethe geleitet. „Die Ernährungs-, Agrar-, und Forstpolitik müssen sich viel stärker an zentralen Nachhaltigkeitszielen orientieren“, sagt Harald Grethe, Direktor Agora Agrar. „Die wichtigsten Stellschrauben sind bekannt und erfordern dringend politisches Handeln. Wir wollen mit unserer Arbeit dazu beitragen, dass die Politik die Transformation wissensbasiert und auf der Grundlage fundierter Analysen langfristig und transparent gestaltet.“

„Zur Lösung der Klima- und Biodiversitätskrise beizutragen, birgt große Chancen für die beteiligten Sektoren und für die Gesellschaft insgesamt – auch in politisch unsicheren Zeiten“, sagt Christine Chemnitz, Direktorin Agora Agrar. „Deshalb wollen wir mit unseren Strategien und Politikempfehlungen dazu beitragen, dass Produktionsressourcen wie Boden und Wasser erhalten, neue Einkommensquellen erschlossen werden sowie die gesellschaftliche Wertschätzung von Land- und Fortwirtschaft steigt.“

Eine wichtige Grundlage der Arbeit von Agora Agrar ist die integrierte Betrachtung der zentralen Nachhaltigkeitsdimensionen. Hierdurch sowie durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Agora Energiewende, Agora Industrie und Agora Verkehrswende wird ein ganzheitlicher Blick auf Synergien und Zielkonflikte im Rahmen der zukünftigen Landnutzung ermöglicht. „Wir freuen uns sehr, dass die Agora-Thinktanks mit dem Start von Agora Agrar nun einen weiteren essenziellen Bereich bei der Transformation zur Klimaneutralität abdecken“, sagt Markus Steigenberger, Geschäftsführer von Agora Energiewende.

Chemnitz und Grethe leiten Agora Agrar und bauen ein vorerst 14-köpfiges, interdisziplinäres Team auf. Beide haben langjährige Erfahrung in den Bereichen Agrar- und Ernährungspolitik. Christine Chemnitz war zuvor über 15 Jahre Leiterin des Referats internationale Agrarpolitik der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung. Harald Grethe leitet das Fachgebiet Internationaler Agrarhandel und Entwicklung an der Humboldt-Universität und war von 2012 bis 2020 Vorsitzender des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats für Agrarpolitik, Ernährung und gesundheitlichen Verbraucherschutz beim BMEL (WBAE).

Agora Agrar arbeitet parteipolitisch unabhängig und wird durch die Förderung privater Stiftungen getragen. Dazu gehören die Robert Bosch Stiftung, Porticus, die European Climate Foundation und die Umweltstiftung Michael Otto. Auch die Stiftung Mercator zählt zu den Unterstützern des Thinktanks.




Über Agora Agrar

Agora Agrar erarbeitet wissenschaftlich fundierte und politisch umsetzbare Wege für die Transformation zu einer nachhaltigen Ernährung, Land- und Forstwirtschaft. Die Organisation agiert unabhängig von wirtschaftlichen und parteipolitischen Interessen.



PDF-Download Pressemitteilung | Thinktank „Agora Agrar“ nimmt Arbeit auf

Pressekontakt: presse@agora-agrar.de
www.agora-agrar.de

Arbeiten
bei Agora Agrar

Das Team der Agora Agrar befindet sich im Aufbau. Wir suchen für unser vorerst 14-köpfiges Team motivierte Menschen, die die Transformation zu einer nachhaltigen Ernährung, Land- und Forstwirtschaft als Chance begreifen und Veränderungsprozesse aktiv gestalten möchten.

2015arrow-downcalendarclose-gradientclose-gradientmenu-gradientmenu-gradientmenu_pinslide to leftslider to righttwitter_internyoutube-inter